Professional Development

The Truth About Unsubscribe

One thing I’ve been working on is unsubscribing to newsletters, promotional email, etc. from any and all vendors to my primary email account. The reason is to take a more proactive approach: rather than reacting to information I receive, I’ll seek out information when I feel I need it. One thing I’ve noticed: many companies tell you you’ve been automatically unsubscribed and will immediately stop receiving emails. Some, however, say you need to wait 5 or 10 or more business days for the change to be processed. Seriously like there’s some guy manually doing this?? All unsubscribe requests should be processed instantly and emails should cease immediately in my opinion. This blog post will document the unsubscribe funtion with various companies. I hope the bad one’s will notice and get their act together!

The good:

surveymonkey.com: unsubscribed on 01/18/12, no notice if it’s immediate or not.

No emails received more than 2 years later!

runningtimes.com: unsubscribed on 01/18/12. Again, no information on processing time. Should we assume immediate?

No emails received more than 2 years later!

flemingssteakhouse.com: unsubscribed on 01/19/12. No info

 

No emails received more than 2 years later!

Opentable.com: unsubscribed on 01/20. Nothing more so far.

No emails received more than 2 years later!

CDW.com: unsubscribed on 01/21.

No emails received more than 2 years later!

Larkspur Landing (hotel): unsubscribed on 01/21:

No emails received more than 2 years later!

Netflix. Unsubscribed on 01/26/12:

No emails received more than 2 years later!

Pottery Barn: Unsubscribed on 01/26/12:

No emails received more than 2 years later!

The bad:

tillys.com: unsubscribed on 01/19/12. No info was given.

Tillys

But I received another email on 02/20/12, so I unsubscribed again.

Another email received on 04/01/12. I think this classifies Tilly’s emails as spam. Another attempt to unsubscribe:

Tillys
Tillys

alaskaair.com: unsubscribed on 01/18/12. 2 weeks?? Really? Come on Alaska.

local.amazon.com: unsubscribed on 01/19/12. 1 day, okay not too bad I guess

 

Leave a Reply

